Elephant Girl: A Review

I became aware of Jane Devin when someone on Twitter posted a link to her blog. From that first blog post, Jane had me held captive. She challenges me, with her raw honesty, and her remarkable courage. When she began talking about her upcoming book, I knew I had to read it.

I received my copy of “Elephant Girl” on Wednesday night, after a long night at work. My plan had been to read a chapter of it before bed, and read more on my day off. By the end of the first chapter, I was in tears, and  I knew that I would not be sleeping anytime soon.

Jane has this remarkable way with words, her voice is at once raw and eloquent, and always brutally honest. This is not an easy book to read. This is hard, and painful, at times even gut wrenching. I lost faith in mankind in this book, and then it was restored.

Jane’s story and mine are vastly different, yet frighteningly similar. I found so many commonalities between her and me, that at one point I considered sending her a tweet and asking if she would please get out of my head. Things I never told another human being on this planet, things I thought only I ever thought or did, were in this book.

Jane makes no excuses for her life. She fearlessly admits to bad decisions, and moves forward. That is one of my favorite things about this story, even at her weakest, lowest points, she moves forward. That inspires me, and gives me hope for my own life. For that, I owe Jane a debt of gratitude.

I think everyone can benefit from reading this book. You will be challenged, you will be humbled. You will bear witness to another human beings soul, laid out for all to see, and just maybe, you will find pieces of yourself.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

