Waking Up

“If you want to make your dreams come true, the first thing you have to do is wake up.”  ~J.M. Power

Yesterday, I started to wake up.  I hadn’t realized before then, just how deeply asleep I was.  I should have.  I am old enough, and have lived through enough to notice my slumber, I would think.  I didn’t until yesterday.

I have spouted Oprah constantly to my friends, my family, and my blog at every opportunity. “Take control of your own life!”  “Live authentically!”  I have quoted and believed, while not actually doing it.

I have allowed myself to live under someone else’s thumb my entire life.  I have looked around and believed that this is the hand I have been dealt, and I just had to live with it, and accept it.  I realize now how wrong I have been.  I see, now more than ever, the obligation I have to myself, and to my children to want better, and to do better.  Again, an Oprah quote, “When you know better, you do better.”  I am going to make it better for all of us.

I know that this is going to be a hard year.  I am well aware that what I am about to put in motion will change everything for all of us, forever.  I am by no means expecting it to be easy or familiar, or anywhere near my comfort zone.  I welcome it all.  I want 2011 to be about taking chances.  About working hard, and loving freely and fiercely, and looking back and being proud.

I wish I could be more specific, and detail my plans if only for myself to process them,but I still have stalker issues, so that will have to wait.  I have a plan, though.  I have people ready to assist me in putting these plans into action.  That feels good.  I have hope for this year.  I am waking up.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Waking Up

  1. paula says:

    Once you start seeing results it will be well worth it. You got me and starbucks for those hard times & alcohol for the really hard times.

Leave a Reply

