He’s Just Not That Into Me

It’s happened to me before.

I know the signs, and I’ve seen them coming for about a year now.

The breakup is coming.  It’s inevitable.  It’s sad, very sad.  No amount of Ben and Jerry’s is gonna take this one away.

The signs were small, at first.  No more kissing goodbye as the school bus pulled up.  Kisses suddenly had to take place in our house, and waving was the only acceptable form of goodbye where people could see.  Okay, I could live with that.

Then, our nightly “I love you to the moon and back again” stopped.  That one I justified by telling myself  it was because I work at night, and I wasn’t there every night for bed time.  Sad, but unavoidable.  This one hurt a little though, I gotta admit.

Then, then it happened.  It’s been almost a year now, and I still remember the conversation.

Sam: Mom, would you say I’m cute?  You know, if you were a girl?

Me:  Sam, I am a girl.

Sam: Oh my Gosh Mom!  Can’t you be serious for once?!  Geeze!

My baby, my little boy.  The one who once told me to wait for him to grow up so he could marry me, no longer thought of me as a girl.  Worse yet, I wasn’t even someone who could have an opinion about his cuteness!  Devastating!

This happened before, as I said.  There was once a little boy named Matthew, who thought I was the greatest thing in the world.  His chubby little face lit up when I walked in the room.  He didn’t want me to work, even when he was in school, because he liked knowing I was at home, waiting for him.  He is now 15, and likes to know that there is food at home waiting for him.  I can be there or not, I don’t think he much cares one way or another most days.

So, once again I am being left behind, along with a piece of my baby’s childhood.  It’s just a matter of time before little girls start calling for him, too.  The plan is to play it cool, let nature and the passing of years take their course.  I’m telling you this much though.  The first time one of those bratty little girls hurts one of my boys, it’s ON!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to He’s Just Not That Into Me

  1. I hear ya! My baby boy is 14 and just rolls his eyes now when I say stuff that he used to think was awesome. And you think Dads are bad with girls. Don’t mess with a boy’s Mama!!!

    Stopping by from SITS!!!

  2. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    It is so hard to devote everything to our children, in preparation for them to leave us in the dust.

    My boys are 11 and 13, so I get it.

  3. Marvi Marti says:

    Mine is 26yo now, but I remember all those things changing like that as he grew up. Thankfully, it comes back, the older they get the more they gravitate back to mom!

  4. VandyJ says:

    My boys are still into me but with my seven year old I know it’s only a matter of time before I’m left in the dust. They grow so quickly.

Leave a Reply

