Pinky Promises

Day 26: The last person you made a pinky promise to……………..

Dear Sam,

I remember a lot of pinky promises with you.  I think you are the only one of all of my children that I have ever made one with actually.

Most clearly, I remember when we moved out last year.  I know that you were scared, and trust me when I tell you, we all were.  I promised you and your sister that our lives would be better.  Sitting on the top bunk in our new room, you leaned down and offered me your pinky.  “Do you promise?”

I really feel like I didn’t hold my end of the bargain in that promise, and I am so sorry for that.  I know you understand why we came back, but I also know how much you hate fighting.  There is a lot of fighting in our house now, and I know that scares you.  Just know, that I haven’t forgotten that promise.  I will make our lives better.

We aren’t finished yet, baby.  That’s one of those things about life, no one is ever really finished.  There will be a lot more chapters in our lives, and a lot more promises.  This promises you can count on, no matter what.  I will always keep you and your brother and sisters safe, and you will always be loved.  Pinky promise.

Love,

Mommy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

