My Best Memory

Day 24: The person who gave you your best memory……………………

You don’t live 42 years without accumulating a lifetime of “best” memories.  When thinking about this assignment, this memory came to mind.

Dear Megan and Jayden,

I really thought in all my life, no moment would ever be as amazing as the birth of each of my children.  Those moments are and always will be memories that I will cherish forever.  However, the memory I want to talk about today, is the memory of watching my baby give birth to a baby of her own.

Since the day you were born, you have been so determined, never resting until you accomplished whatever goal you set for yourself.  That morning, the determination on your face was like nothing I have ever seen before.  I was scared, and confused, but I couldn’t help but be proud, too.

There is a strange wave of emotion that come over you, watching your child bring another life into this world.  Sort of a feeling of having come full circle.  We were in the same hospital that you were born in, and I think that added to the surreal-ness of the morning for me.  I’m glad that no one else was with us then.  I like that it was just you and me, and then Jayden.  Seems kind of fitting.

I have written the story of Jayden’s birth a couple of times in this forum, so I won’t go over it again.  Really, the circumstances around his birth don’t really matter, do they?  As a mother, I know that sometimes, the biggest blessings in life are things that you never even knew you wanted until you have them.  Sometimes unexpected events can be the best thing to happen in a person’s life.  You and Jayden prove that, better than anyone I know.

Thank you for giving me the privilege of watching you give birth.  I love you both.

Love Always,

Mom

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

