To Karen

Day 14: Someone you’ve drifted away from:

Dear Karen,

I remember a time when we were inseparable.  I can remember not ever being able to imagine you not being a huge part of my life.

I’m not sure why people drift apart, but I know that it’s a part of life.  It still is kind of sad.  I know a huge part of why we aren’t as close anymore is because of us both moving so much.  What is it about New Jersey that makes young girls want to be anywhere but there?  I know part of it is because you don’t like the man I married, and I know you well enough to know that you are probably thinking “I told you so”.  That’s okay.  You did tell me, and from you I won’t take it as an insult.

Thanks to my addiction to all things social media related, I do still talk to you on Facebook occasionally, and I am grateful for that.  I have to say, motherhood has changed you.  You seem softer now, calmer.  This is a huge difference from the wild life of the party girl that I knew in college.  I think I somehow fed off of your courage, and with you I had some of the craziest, most dangerous, and most memorable times of my life.

I love that our friendship is one that doesn’t need constant tending.  We can go for years without speaking, and pick up right where we left off.  I love that when I need you the most, you somehow appear.  I hope that I can do the same for you.

It’s a sad truth for us, that you are the only other person I know in real life that knows what it’s like to lose a child.  I have written before about the club no one wants to be a part of, and it was a huge comfort to me that you knew exactly what kind of hell that was.  I wish, for you that you didn’t, but I am glad for me that you did.

I am so proud of the life you have made for yourself and for your son since your divorce.  It’s really hard to be a single mother in a state where you know no one, but you have done an amazing job.  Of course, I never for a second doubted you would.  The Karen I knew laughed at challenges and obstacles, and obviously some things never change.

I hope that one day our lives cross paths again.  Until then, I wish you only the very best that life can offer, because you deserve it.

Love,

Jenn

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

