Unbelievable

I have been following Constance McMillian’s case since the beginning, with a growing sense of horror. If you aren’t familiar with the name, very quickly, Constance is a teen aged lesbian, and wanted to bring her girlfriend to her prom. After much debate, the school decided it would cancel the prom, rather than allow her to attend. At this point in the story, I was sickened. I could not believe that in this day and age, we could allow such discrimination. It’s 2010, for goodness sake! Yeah, I was sickened, and ashamed of us all.

Now however, now I am really and truly very angry. It seems that private citizens decided to hold a prom for the school. Then, in what is the most disgusting, sick thing I have ever heard, they arranged a FAKE PROM! Candace, along with a couple other students not “worthy” of a real prom, were invited to a cover prom, the rest of the students went to the real prom. I cannot express my outrage at this. This was done by ADULTS! Unbelievable!

I know that I am not going to change anyone’s views on homosexuality. Honestly, I wouldn’t even try any more. If you feel that it is wrong, ok. You win. You don’t ever have to think anything different than you do right now. I feel that Republicans are wrong. I still have to live with Republicans, work with Republicans, send my children to school to be educated by Republicans. Isn’t it easier to get along with them? To find some commonality between us on which to build, if not a friendship, at least a mutual respect?

What makes this so much worse, is that this is a teen aged girl. Teen years are hard, and painful enough without the adults in her community promoting hate. This story has been all over the internet, and I am sure that other teens have looked to Constance as a hero. What are we saying to those kids? If any of you reading this are one of those kids, I want to say I’m sorry. You are not a freak, you are not less than any other person, and you don’t deserve to be treated this way. I hope you find acceptance. I wish you love and peace.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

