My Valued Customers (2)

Dear Valued Customers,

I want to tell you how much my fellow cashiers and I enjoyed giving up our Easter Sunday to make ourselves available for your shopping needs. We consider it a privilege and honor, as always. While everyone else was spending quality time with family and friends, we were enthusiastically spending quality time with you, our valued customers. The honor humbles me.

I have to wonder, however, if you were enjoying your holiday. You certainly were especially cranky today, to be sure. I am sure you were stressed, that is probably why you were so eager to curse us out. I might be stressed too, if I had to prepare a lovely holiday meal for my family and friends, I’m not sure, as my holidays are spent largely at Grocery World, being available to you. So to the gentleman who cursed me, and then my manager for a full 5 minutes a piece because our pharmacy wasn’t opened today, I understand. Also, I sincerely apologize for smirking a little when after your cursing/screaming rampage, you turned to me and said happy Resurrection Day. That was probably uncalled for.

To the woman who demanded, full of Holy indignation, to know why we were opened on “the most Holy of Holy Days”, I meant no disrespect when I said that we were opened because people want to shop. I’m sure you meant to buy your dinner before 2:00 pm on Easter Sunday, I was simply pointing out that we were there to give you the option to forget until then. Incidentally, no, I do not think that Grocery World is run by immoral heathens with no care for the fate of their or their employees souls. In all fairness, that was an uncalled for statement, too.

However, all good things come to an end, and my shift did end, all too soon, as usual. I am now home with my family. Dinner, though not prepared by me, was eaten by me, and I am spending the last part of this evening with my children
and grandson. Happy Easter once more.

Sincerely,
Your Cashier

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Valued Customers (2)

  1. paulapet says:

    why would you ask that when you are in there shopping? how fucking nuts do people need to be? Then again the church crowd has always been especially cranky. Maybe their panty hose are in a bunch.

  2. Jenn says:

    The brilliance of my customers amazes me sometimes.

Leave a Reply

